The Risotto Challenge

Dear All,
Time has come for me to make my first appearance as a guest-blogger here on Culture Vultures. Introductions are therefore in order; my name is Rebecca and I happen to be one of  Babs and Rev’s five lucky housemates. You might have read about me previously as I often occur in posts, referred to as ‘The Swede’. I am writing this in order to present my contribution to The Risotto Challenge between me and friend of ours, Pete. Pete will post his recipe on his blog called Small Portions, Big Flavors.
In honor of my new nickname I thought vegetable was the way to go. Below, I present to you my roasted butter-nut squash risotto. Enjoy.
Risotto recipe for 4:
Image
  • 1 large butternut squash
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 4 tbsp olive oil, plus extra for drizzling
  • flaked sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 large knobs of butter
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 400g/14oz arborio or other Italian risotto rice
  • 3 glasses white wine
  • 1 litre/1¾ pint hot chicken or vegetable stock
  • Freshly grated parmesan cheese, plus extra to serve
  • Pumpkin seeds

    1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
    2. Cut the butternut squash into 6-8 wedges, remove the seeds and boil for 10 minutes before placing them in a roasting tray. Add garlic and a generous amount of olive oil. Roast in the oven for about 40 minutes.
    3. Chop the onion and cut the garlic before frying it in olive oil until softened. Add the rice into the pan and let it fry for a minute while stirring it. Add hot stock, wine, salt and pepper and let it boil in. Continuously add hot stock allowing it to cook into the rice. After about 15-20 minutes, turn the heat down slightly and stir. The risotto should be creamy in texture and thick. If necessary add more stock.
    4.  Add butter and parmesan to the risotto. Peel the butternut squash and mash it before adding. Stir before removing of the heat. Serve with pumpkin seeds sprinkled on top.

Image

The Swede 
Leave a Reply

