When life gives you lemons…

For Valentines Day this year I got given a book on hosting vintage tea parties (calm down Mum the book was from one of my housemates… not a boy) and one of the recipes inside is for traditional lemonade. While lemonade is mainly seen as a summer drink [Charlie and I are contemplating opening up a lemonade stand on Pennsylvania Rd in the hotter months, so watch this space] I think it can be equally as refreshing and delicious at any time of the year.

ImageImageImageImage

I tweaked the recipe from the book slightly as I decided to add golden syrup as well as sugar.

My ingredients were:
  • Juice of 7 lemons
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • 150 gr sugar (100 caster, 50 brown)
  • 1tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 cups water
It is surprisingly easy to make, just gently heat the sugar, syrup and water until dissolved. Then add the lemon juice and zest, take off the heat to cool, this can then be bottled as a cordial-like-liquid and added to either still or sparkling water. Obviously how strong you have it will depend on personal taste, I am a 4:1 girls myself!ImageImageImage
Babs
Leave a Reply

