Playlist

OK so I am not going to pretend to be a music aficionado, as those of you who know me will also know that this is not my area of expertise. However I am blessed to have two siblings with far cooler and “of the moment” music taste, so whilst being home I took advantage of this and basically here is a list of what I am/you should be listening to right now. Enjoy!

Image

HAIM – Hold Me
What could be better then a HAIM cover of Fleetwood Mac? [Maybe if they had done a music video styled as Fleetwood Mac then we would achieved ultimate bliss] but honestly this combination is a match made in heaven. And how achingly cool are the trio, I could do separate a blog post on their fashion alone!
**Also check out their Radio 1 Live Lounge cover of Oh Well**
Miss Li- My Heart Goes Boom
So we have all totally had this song stuck in our head since DFS used it on their extensive ad campaign that still seems to be lingering around, however we shouldn’t judge it due to the fact it endorses a sub-standard sofa company. I’m a sucker for this Swede’s single.

Duke Dumont ft A*M*E- Need U (100%)
So my friend Anna has a music blog (Flying With Anna, definitely worth the read) and when she posted this song I quickly became obsessed. Isn’t it the perfect tune for the long summer nights we have to look forward to? The videos also pretty great…

Solange Knowles – Sandcastle Disco
So having rediscovered my love of Destiny’s Child in a karaoke bar somewhere in China, Solange came up in conversation and my fellow tribute-band mates were shocked that I hadn’t really listened to any of her music. So on my return to the land of youtube [sadly Chinese media doesn’t have extensive coverage of her works] I have now become a big fan, and find myself endlessly dancing around the kitchen to her.

Image

Disclosure – White Noise ft. AlunaGeorge
With the success of Latch, and their amazing performance at Coachella Disclosure are definitely worth keeping a watch on for the summer. I couldn’t get a good quality video of their live performance but check out Running with Jessie Ware as well.

Imagine Dragons – Radioactive
If you recognise this song then it’s probably because you have seen the trailer for the new film The Host, and if you don’t then move past the fact that this movie is based on a Stephanie Meyer novel even if you do spend the whole 3 minutes ogling Max Irons. The music video is a bit weird and I am yet to decide if I am fan, however the song is definitely worth the click.

Image

Bastille – Pompeii
Whilst the soundtrack of last summer was unquestionably Flaws, this track justs reassures me of Bastille’s amazing abilities. This could definitely be a new post-revision-sunbathing tune. I also love their cover of the TLC classic No Angels which is far superior in my opinion to the original.

Metric – Sick Muse
So although this song isn’t new, it came out in 2009, it is to me. But be warned, you will spend the whole video developing wardrobe envy for Emily Haines their lead singer. Who doesn’t love a woman in sequins?

Of Monsters and Men – Dirty Paws
So no new news here then about Of Monsters and Men, you all totally love them already right!?! And if my sister Alice is correct in her predictions, this band are seconds away from being “the next big thing”, if you don’t think they are already. Whilst Little Talks in probably still their best known track, this one and King & Lionheart are equally great.

Image

Now, Now – Dead Oaks
So anyone whose heart doesn’t melt when hearing this song and watching the short video, are you human? And to add to the endearing factor this band met in their high school’s marching band, too much for me to handle!

Babs

Leave a Reply

