Going Green

Image

Macaroons are something I have always wanted to attempt to make, they are beautifully delicate and delicious. However they require quite a lot of baking apparatus, so whilst stuck in a student house in Exeter I was condemned to the “all the ideas but none of the gear” group.
Therefore whilst being at home I have vowed to make the most of Mamma B’s extensive tool kit and larder to bring you some of the edible goods I had been dreaming up.

Image

Inspired by my recent trip to China in which green tea shortbread was my favourite treat, I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and attempt green tea macaroons. Most of the recipes I found called for a white chocolate filling, sadly I am allergic which ruled out that idea, so sticking to the green theme I thought limes would add a nice tang to the sweet subtlety of the biscuits.

Image

Ingredients
For the biscuits:
100g almond powder
180g icing sugar
10g green tea
100g egg white (aprox 3)
40g caster sugar

Image

Image

For the filling:
100g butter
5g green tea
1tbsp lime juice
50ml milk (I used soy)
2 egg yolks
50g granulated sugar
10g lime zest

ImageImage

I adapted my recipe from the one I found here, but they didn’t really end up looking like the ones in the picture! However a good way to go is to get a basic macaroon recipe (thank you BBC) and then just change the flavours to suit your preference.
Babs
Leave a Reply

